Yes, Airlines Can Legally Ban Photography, And Some Are Doing Just That

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Travel' started by uggboy, May 9, 2015.  |  Print Topic

1. uggboy
    Original Member

uggboy Gold Member

Status Points:
    Yes, Airlines Can Legally Ban Photography, And Some Are Doing Just That

2. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    Except that none actually are and these rules are not new.

alfagirl and satman40 like this.
  3. satman40

satman40 Gold Member

Status Points:
    I take a lot of pictures, and it is not a good idea to snap a bunch of people,

Respect goes a long way.

Most of us do not want our life's open to the public.

Your pictures should not be focused on the person, but the surroundings,

You need to get a release, if it is that important, to use later...

uggboy likes this.
  4. Counsellor
    Original Member

Counsellor Gold Member

Status Points:
    I'm not an expert in this area of the law, but I would think a case could be made that even though the airplanes themselves are private property, when they are being used as a common carrier they may take on the trappings of a public area for some purposes. For instance, if you are taking pictures in a non-disruptive manner and the airline attempts to refuse you carriage for that reason, would it hold up? As common carriers, they may have constraints on their right to refuse carriage except in certain circumstances

uggboy and anileze like this.
  5. timfrost

timfrost Silver Member

Status Points: