Y fare and B fare auto-upgrade at ticketing...?

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by scf, Jan 13, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. scf

scf Silver Member

Status Points:
    this might be a basic question, actually I'm fairly sure it is, but I'm still relatively new to this and need some guidance from the expects. I did a quick search and didn't find anything either.

I was looking at CO/UA's website and read that when an elite member (all status levels) purchases a Y fare ticket they are given the chance to upgrade at the time of ticketing (I assume that means as you are purchasing....). Several questions come to mind:

1) Is that a free upgrade or does it still require the purchaser to use miles?
    2) International and domestic travel?
    3) Companion upgraded as well?
    4) How does one find out an upgrade is available prior to purchase...? some other website I assume....?

The site also mentions that tickets purchased at the B fare level are able to upgrade immediately "subject to capacity controls (?)." Seems even more important to find out if an upgrade is available prior to purchase on a B fare ticket....

Does anyone have experience with this? Seems like a cheaper way to fly business class on international flights.....

2. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    There are no free upgrades on long haul international, but certain shorter international flights, such as Canada or Mexico, are treated as domestic by some carriers so you must check the rules.

For these domestic upgrade at purchase fares, which can be very expensive, the best thing is probably to call the carrier to purchase. No miles are required for the upgrade.

scf likes this.
  3. Phudnik
    Original Member

Phudnik Gold Member

Status Points:
    This is a longstanding CO program that is being extended to the entire combined airline sometime this year. It works as follows: