WOW!

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by TravelBear, Jun 12, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. TravelBear

TravelBear Gold Member

Status Points:
    I just found these forums and well, it's a bit overwhelming! I started a points plan about a year ago and thought I was doing well with over 72k points but you all make me look like a complete amateur!

So, late last year I decided I wanted to start traveling more as I had kind of taken a break. Chase Sapphire card was in high rotation on TV adds and it looked good so I got one. Now this is not a Preferred card afaik. I have a USair and Delta miles account with 34k and 12k respectively. Oh, i have a USair mastercard that I applied for with one of those inflight offers.

I use the Chase card for almost everything, very little I don't put on it. I do not use the USair MC at all. Should I have the preferred card over my apparent generic one?

I don't have lofty goals with this, but I do want more cheap travel! If any of this makes sense and anyone can start to steer me in a better direction it would be appreciated.

Andyandy, wrxmom, SC Flier and 17 others like this.
  2. miles and smiles
    Original Member

miles and smiles Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to Milepoint neighbor! (I live in Weaverville).

My first advice is to remember that we all have to start somewhere, and we are all learning. When I discovered online forums and bogs about travel and miles and points, I had a similar mileage total as you do. Two years later I have about a million miles and points and virtually all my travel these last two years has been free. So, yes it is possible to travel widely for very little $$.
    Take your time to formulate goals, do research and ask questions. We are a friendly bunch here, and you'll get lots of help.

wrxmom, Flying Bat, jbcarioca and 9 others like this.
  3. harvson3

harvson3 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to Milepoint.