Wi_fi Question: Has anyone flown on UA 747s Transpac this fall?

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by kansaskeith, Dec 20, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. kansaskeith

kansaskeith Gold Member

Status Points:
    Particularly interested in Hong Kong. Throughout most of the summer, the flight I was watching most - UA 869 - was showing wifi available on flight status about half to three-quarters of the time. This seemed to be consistent with the overall published statistics that 50-some percent of the 747s had by then had the hardware added and were wi-fi capable.

In fact the flight I was to be on in September ended up showing that it had it, though at the last minute I cancelled the trip because of Typhoon Usagi and rescheduled for January.

But in recent months I have been checking most days, and not one day for at least two months now have I seen the service offered SFO - HKG. So I got into a very frustrating Twitter exchange asking UA if the service had been discontinued and they ended up saying no, only way to tell is just check flight-status two days ahead, because about 2/3 of their 747s have it. But that was the very point -- I *had* been checking that, and it has totally gone to zero. The Twitter dude or gal could simply not understand what I was saying.

I'm wondering if anyone has flown transPac on the 747s this fall and was the service in fact offered despite absence of mention on flight status? What routes did you fly? How much did it cost? Did it work well, or not? (AA's 77Ws to London are getting a reputation of the international wifi not working well.) Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

2. HubletUAFlyer

HubletUAFlyer Gold Member

Status Points:
    4/5 flights SFO to HKG this year had wifi and only two of those had the wifi actually functioning.
    I think it was $16 for the complete trip, and the service was patchy at times.