Why I’m Removing AwardWallet from My Sidebar

Discussion in 'Blogstand' started by BoardingArea, Oct 16, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. BoardingArea

BoardingArea News Feed

Status Points:
    AwardWallet is generally a useful service. Many people like to use it for tracking their award balances, which can be difficult when you have more than a couple. I actually don’t care about my specific balances, but I’m not very good at tracking my account numbers. When I need a number to log into an account and make a booking, it comes in handy for that.

And for a long time I’ve had a link to their site in my sidebar. Free advertising. Not quite, because I get some upgrades if a person uses that link to sign up, but I don’t really value them much and give away all but one or two. So free advertising. I’ve NEVER negotiated ad rates with anyone because that is not the deciding factor about what goes up. It’s about whether it’s good for the reader. If I make some money or get some other freebie, great, but I take what’s offered and it isn’t my primary motivation.

(As for the BoardingArea display ads, I don’t control the content. Some readers who meet me say that they click on these to help me out. Don’t bother. Use an ad blocker for all I care.)

Now AwardWallet’s ad is coming down, and I’ll tell you why because this kind of advertising behavior really annoys me. <rant on>