Who should I credit within SkyTeam

Discussion in 'SkyTeam' started by kstewart10, May 2, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. kstewart10
    Original Member

kstewart10 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am new to SkyTeam and curious about which program I should credit. I am new to SkyTeam products but will likely fly them in the near future, on Star I credited to BMI and now Aegean for quick status building, is there a likewise fast track FFP I should consider or just start crediting to Delta?

Thanks!

2. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    AFAIK there isn't a fasttrack carrier, although the requirements can differ as do the percentage of miles earned on different fare codes. Note that SkyTeam isn't especially good for consistently available alliance-wide benefits. Do you care more about status benefits or award tickets. If the latter, how do you feel about fees and where are you based?

Note that if you want free upgrades on USA "domestic" flights, it's helpful to use DL, although you might be able to get a rare upgrade as an Alaska or KLM/AF FF. Alaska isn't SkyTeam, but you can credit and redeem using DL, so this might be an option to consider if you don't fly other SkyTeam carriers.

3. kstewart10
    Original Member

kstewart10 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I completely forgot about Alaskan, great solution, thanks so much, that's perfect!

4. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    Just remember that Alaska isn't a member of SkyTeam. You can earn and burn on both DL and AA, but Alaska miles, for example, cannot be used for "SkyTeam upgrades" (from essentially full coach fares). I suspect that you can use Alaska miles for any award ticket that uses DL codeshares (which would include a lot of flights operated by AF and KLM, but none by certain other SkyTeam members such as Saudia) for flights operated by any SkyTeam member, but I've never checked the details.

5. mattsteg