Which Hotel Program?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by WanderLuster, Jan 6, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. WanderLuster
    Original Member

WanderLuster Silver Member

Status Points:
    Not exactly a newbie, but still manage to have a newbie-ish question.

I'm trying to decide on a Hotel Loyalty Program. In my former life (I'm a reformed consultant), I traveled full time and had Hilton Diamond and Marriott Platinum Status. Right around the time of the Great Hilton Devaluation, I switched jobs, started traveling less, and dropped Hilton. Currently, I have MR Platinum. With roll-over nights and the CC nights, I should need about 40 nights this year to requalify.

My expected travel for the year is approx 70-80 nights for business (Charlotte, Vegas, NYC, and unknown) and approx. 30-40 nights for leisure (Orlando, NYC, Napa, unknown).

Important to Me
    1) Aspirational Awards - (High end award stays, though not necessarily resorts)
    2) Hotel Locations - (Global presence, lower level brand availability for business stays)
    3) Perks on Paid Stays - (Room upgrades, lounge access, etc -- Royal Ambassador is very appealing here)

I'm not sure if I should add a second program (SPG, Hyatt, or Priority Club) and go for status -- I'm not married to Marriott and would consider changing my primary affiliation. Or should I just hop around and jump on the best promos that come up?

I know I haven't given you a ton to go on, but I appreciate the wisdom of everyone on the board and would appreciate any advice you have. I've been going back and forth and back and forth on this with myself for far too long now!

Toula likes this.
  2. Toula
    Original Member

Toula Gold Member

Status Points:
    For me, I determine my destination hotels and work backwards.

For example, I think our major travel this year will be to Asia. I know that Starwood have the hotels I most likely will stay at in those locations. So for me in 2012 our focus will be on Starwood with Hyatt as the backup.