Which ff program out of Seattle?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by gmarchetti, Jun 7, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. gmarchetti

gmarchetti Silver Member

Status Points:
    I have been collecting miles and points for many years, but due to recent changes I have a newbie question.

My main objective is to take my family of 4 to Italy every year or two. We have family over there.
    There is no direct flight to Italy from Seattle, where we live. You can fly via London, Amsterdam, Paris or Frankfurt.
    So far, I have collected BA Avios and Amex points on my Amex PRG and managed to save some money that way. However, BA surcharges have increased to the point where it does not make sense to fly economy on points and I simply cannot collect enough points or afford the fees for the 4 of us to fly business.
    Delta points are relatively easy to come by, thanks to their partnership with Alaska, but they are worth little. Redeeming at "saver" level is quite difficult. This year the four of us would need almost 500k points to travel in the summer!
    The best option would be United points, both for value, easy redemption and a direct flight from Frankfurt to our home town, but United does not fly many routes from here, so those points are difficult to collect.
    I do travel on business although less than a year ago. My company issues us with a corporate Amex, whose points cannot be transferred to either Lufthansa or united. Air Canada is a transfer partner, but they do charge about the same fees and surcharges on Lufthansa as BA does for their flights.

Any suggestions? Which program should I focus on and which card should I get to maximize points?

2. MSYgirl

MSYgirl Gold Member

Status Points: