Which credit card(s) should I apply along with SPG?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by mujakwi, Aug 9, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. mujakwi

mujakwi Active Member

Status Points:
    Hi, everyone.

Milepoint Newbie here!

I would like to ask a few questions before applying for credit cards.

I currently own Chase Freedom, Ink Bold, Sapphire Preferred, and AMEX blue cash. Although I was quite happy with the AMEX blue cash before when I was oblivious to the whole points and miles games, I realized cash back is generally worse than points and miles. I especially felt about the real values of points strongly when I found out about the UR points and I managed to garner around 250,000 UR points. That is roughly two RT first class plane tickets to Korea from NYC which can be valued at $10,000-15,000 per ticket.

So I decided to ditch my AMEX blue cash and apply for the AMEX SPG with the new 30,000 promotion to go for the precious SPG points. While I'm at it, I wanted to maximize my sign-up bonuses with 1 inquiry. So here are my questions.

1) Which credit cards would you recommend me to apply along with the AMEX spg? I do not have any particular allegiance to any hotel or mileage program. So I just want to take advantage of a GOOD DEAL and maybe start building up on it. I'm currently considering Two-browser trick Citi-AA credit cards with $50,000 bonus. But could you recommend some other cards as well? I want to stay away from the Chase credit cards for now. And I do not have problems with the spending limit since I learned a few tricks reading this board and other blogs.

2) Most of my recent credit cards applications pulled from Experian. The latest one is for Chase Sapphire Preferred on Apr 4th. And most of the credit cards issues by the banks in NJ pulls from Experian. So would a red flag go up if I apply 2-3 credit cards that pull from the same credit bureau?