Which cc to apply for?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by ilex00, Oct 3, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. ilex00

ilex00 Active Member

Status Points:
    Newbie here. About to cancel my first cc that is coming due for the annual fee. It's a SW Visa and It provides me no benefits. Leisure traveler and to be honest, I flew SW this year for the first time in a long time and really hated it.

So, my question is twofold. Do I apply for another Chase card before I cancel my SW card and ask to move the pretty nice credit line over to the new card? Last Chase cc I applied for I was not approved for right away but got a call from Chase to move some credit lines around and then got approved. Assuming the same thing will happen again. Or do I just cancel the SW card, wait a while, and then apply for a new chase cc? I applied for my last chase cc in July.

Second question - which Chase cc does anyone suggest? I think the two that would be most beneficial to me now would be the Freedom card or the Ink Bold. Not sure how nitpicky chase is about the type of and lucrativeness of your business. Mine's informal with no business id and not much money made to date. I have the Sapphire and my husband has the freedom so I thought that maybe getting the freedom may make point transfers from him to me easier.

Any thoughts, insights, suggestions would be very much appreciated! Thanks!

Jett Rink likes this.
  2. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    Not sure how you having Freedom will make it easier when you already have the Sapphire.

I would apply for whatever you need & not cancel the SW card yet. If they don't approve you then ask to move credit lines around ... if they just give you the CL, call back and ask for the retention dept for the SW card.