When to cancel...

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by gconnery, Dec 11, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. gconnery

gconnery Silver Member

Status Points:
    Okay, so I'm a month into my current churn and thinking about the next one because, hey that's what we do... And I'm still a newb and thought I'd ask the obvious question.

What cards should I cancel and when?

To be more specific, in one example I've currently got three Citi cards: a CitiBusiness World M/C (November), Citi AA Platinum Select M/C (June) and a long term Citi AA World Elite M/C that I don't want to close as its got a large balance and presumably helps my credit score. All of these are tapped out.

In February or so, depending on the offers available at the time of course, I'll likely be looking to add another Citi AA card to the pile. The Platinum AA VISA or the Amex AA. Or perhaps the Hilton. Anyway, another Citi Card.

Since Citi isn't Chase and you don't want to try and talk them into shifting credit around, it seems like I probably want to cancel one of these cards, presumably the June Citi Select. I've had it the longest of the cards I'm willing to cancel, the new card will almost certainly be a personal one so its the obvious one to get rid of. We're already past 6 months so its maybe okay to kill it now. Should I make sure to kill it a month before my application so that its off my credit file? Should I kill it now to maximize this potential? Should I wait until just before my new application so I'm not seen as a churner? Does it matter?

2. gconnery

gconnery Silver Member

Status Points:
    Looks like the current 'official' 50K miles for $10K spend offers are going to be pulled tomorrow. No responses huh?

Seems like the T&C's for the personal cards exclude current Citibank customers, whereas the Business cards don't. Of course I already have a business card, but the wife doesn't...