What to say when calling reconsideration line

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Gacspeech, Jun 17, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. Gacspeech

Gacspeech Active Member

Status Points:
    Good morning,

I applied for a new Chase card yesterday (the British Airways card), but I got the " we'll let you know in the next month or so" reply, rather than automatic approval. I'm a complete newbie and I'm dreading making this call. Can someone give me a script of what to say to make sure I get the card? That would really help me feel a little more relaxed about making the call. I have no clue what they'll ask me. I applied for a Cap One Venture card back in March (before I really started learning about points) but this is the only other card I have applied for, so I'm not sure why I wasn't automatically approved.

In case you're wondering why I chose this card as one of my first forays into the world of points/miles, I live in Boston and I'm hoping to get the great bonus to fly from BOS -DUB using Avios on Aer Lingus next summer. In the future I plan to apply for other cards.

Thanks for any help you can give me. :)

Kalboz likes this.
  2. LarryInNYC

LarryInNYC Gold Member

Status Points:
    Just call them and say that you got the "we'll let you know" message and ask whether there's any further information they need, since you were surprised not to get approved right away. They'll probably ask you some questions about your income and possibly the size of your other credit lines, all of which you should answer truthfully. Unfortunately, it sounds like you don't have any other credit lines with Chase to "trade" for this card if there turns out to be a problem with your amount of outstanding credit.

You can sign up with CreditSesame and CreditKarma to pre-check your approximate credit scores to see if there might be an issue there.

The only times you really need to worry about the reconsideration line is if
    • You have credit "issues" on your record.