What to do with a 12 hour layover in BKK - Enjoy Business Class Lounge or Explore the City?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Travel' started by lrluis, Apr 17, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. lrluis

lrluis Silver Member

Status Points:
    I've never been outside of the Bangkok Airport and this might be my first chance to see the city.

At the moment, my fiancee and I have a room reserved at the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong. Is it worth our time to go into the city for such a quick trip? We want to get some authentic Thai food and had our hearts set on trying those crazy foot massages, but I also don't know if the spas run all night. I arrive at 7:30pm on May 21st and leave at 7:40am the following morning.

One thing to note is that we're also flying Business and it's my first time traveling through here in J. I hear there's some good stuff to experience in the airport if we decided to stay there instead. Do business class passengers also get free massages like first class travelers? And are there beds or private rooms in the business lounges?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or words of wisdom.

2. Santander

Santander Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm no expert on BKK but on a 12 hour layover I'd definitely leave the airport, at the very least to an airport hotel. Your times sort of suck but I'm sure it'd be better than staying at the airport all night. Not sure I'd spend the money for the Renaissance for a 12 hour layover though, even if I had Marriott status. There's decent hotels like the Park Plaza Soi 18 which are way cheaper and is sufficient for one night. I'll let someone else give you suggestions on the what to do/where to go part.

If you're departing on TG the next morning, you can access the Royal Orchid Spa and get either a neck/shoulder massage or a foot massage (which could cross the foot massage from your list, actually).

perryplatypus and lrluis like this.
  3. harvson3

harvson3 Silver Member

Status Points: