What Makes A Great Trip Report?

Discussion in 'Trip Reports' started by eightblack, Feb 17, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. eightblack
    Original Member

eightblack Silver Member

Status Points:
    I don't profess to know everything there is to writing trip reports. And no, I'm not a professional writer. There would also have to be a queue a mile long of people who are far more qualified than I am to give this advice - but since the nice men who run MP want us all to be warm and cuddly with each other, I'd like to go first (and hope many seasoned Trip Reporters will also chime in).

Ok, yes, I've written a few. Trip Reports that is. And everyone (including me), likes their 15-minutes of fame. Especially if people read your content, reply positively and the thread picks up momentum.

I've also read my fair share of reports. I love living vicariously through other people - especially when it comes to premium travel and the fabulous wine lists on offer. But if I see one more picture of a glass of diet coke in a First Class cabin, I'm going to stick my head in an oven.

So, if you'll permit me the stage for a moment, I'd like to share with you my pet peeves...and then my humble hints on what I think works. In no particular order. In fact, I think I've mixed everything together. Stuff it. You'll get the idea.

Ok, here they are:

1. Images: Learn how to post images (and the right-sized images). There's nothing worse than opening a trip report and the thing taking 15-mins to load because the images are enormous. Learn how to use a site like Imageshack if you don't know which one to use. Or ask a teenager. But figure it out. And be consistent with sizes the whole way thru. And another thing - if the photo is of poor quality - toss it.