What is better?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Travel' started by kamranzahid, Feb 24, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. kamranzahid

kamranzahid New Member

Status Points:
    Greetings everyone,

I'm new to milepoint. I have a question about something I've given a lot of thought to. I recently went on vacation to Koh Samui, Thailand. I looked at several airlines for routes and fares. The most suitable seemed Qatar Airways (QA). They first fly to Bangkok and from there they have an arrangement with Bangkok Airways (BA) for the connecting flight. It looked like a good choice because it was the cheapest fare and QA is a fantastic airline. But then I looked at fares on the BA website and it was obvious that if I book QA just to Bangkok and separately book BA from BKK to Koh Samui, I'd save a decent amount of money (they have special web promotion rates). So I did that.

After finalizing the booking and purchasing the tickets, I wondered if it was a good idea to do that. What if something went wrong (like the QA flight getting delayed) and I miss my connecting BA flight. I'd have to pay the difference for higher fare seats and I might eventually end up paying about as much as (or more than) what I would have paid by booking only with QA. None of that happened and the trip went smoothly, but I still think about it.

In general, is it a better idea to book with one airline if they are providing a route all the way to your final destination in collaboration with partner airlines? Or is it the same (or makes very little difference) if one plans the way I did? Please also consider the return trip :)

Thanks and regards,
    -- Kamran

WilliamQ likes this.
  2. NYCUA1K

NYCUA1K Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MilePoint, Kamran!