What is a mile run?

Discussion in 'Mileage Runs/Travel Hacking' started by michael21, Mar 14, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. michael21

michael21 Silver Member

Status Points:
    What exactly is a mile run and how do you do one?

Sorry guys I'm still learning.

Thanks

2. LarryInNYC

LarryInNYC Gold Member

Status Points:
    A mileage run means taking one or more flights just to collect the frequent flier miles. This is usually done because you are close to one of the elite status levels in a particular frequent flier program and you won't otherwise fly enough miles to get to that level in the time allotted.

To do one, you find a fare that has a very low cost-per-mile. For instance, if you can fly 1,000 miles (and collect 1,000 frequent flier miles) for $100, the cost is $0.10 per mile. For mileage runs I think most people look for a cost below $o.05 per mile and preferably at or below $0.03 per mile. Then you buy the ticket, fly the miles, and make sure that the miles post promptly to your account.

3. NYCUA1K

NYCUA1K Gold Member

Status Points:
    A trip, often contorted, that one takes for the sole purpose of earning miles that count toward attaining a pre-established elite level in an airline loyalty program...

4. daemon14

daemon14 Gold Member

Status Points:
    The MilePoint glossary has it as:

A series of flights taken in a very short amount of time, solely for the purpose of accumulating frequent flyer miles, with a blatant disregard for the destinations.

5. Jeff the Wanderer

Jeff the Wanderer Silver Member

Status Points:
    5,280 feet....takes me about 7 minutes.

6. goalie
    Original Member

goalie Gold Member

Status Points:
    www.instantrimshot.com ;)

And to the OP, here's an example....

On Monday 31/9, I'm flying UA:

SFO-JFK 7am-3:30pm
    JFK-SFO 7:pm-10:45pm*

The trip is 2,586 qualifying miles each way so 5,712 towards my 2013 re-qualification. The fare was (round numbers) $220 so 5,172/$220=$.04 cents per mile.