What GPS to buy?

Discussion in 'Travel Technology' started by Dovster, Mar 20, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Dovster
    Original Member

Dovster Gold Member

Status Points:
    Understand one thing -- my entire experience with a GPS is using a NeverLost in a rented Hertz car. I freely admit to being a complete novice with them. I don't even know how to change maps. (Is this done physically by switching a chip or do I somehow download additional maps into the device?)

I have decided to buy one, but have no idea of which to get. Obviously, I want the best price possible but I have certain minimum requirements:

1. It has to be easily moved from one car to another.

2. It must accept maps for Israel, North America, and Western Europe.

3. It has to speak to me. I want to hear instructions on where to turn left or right, not try to read them while I am driving.

4. If it will tell me about traffic jams or other problems, that is icing on the cake. It is only a few bucks more, okay. If it is a lot more, I will pass on it.

5. Ditto for it telling me where we are while in a plane. Nice, worth a few dollars, but not a deal killer.

6. Ditto (again) for it helping me when I am walking in a strange city.

Which GPS would you suggest (manufacturer and model)?

lisamcgu and jbcarioca like this.
  2. jbcarioca
    Original Member

jbcarioca Gold Member

Status Points:
    With your specifications the choice becomes easy.

First, no current GPS finds UIG's or any related persons, except for a handful of local market only Russian and Ukranian models.
    Second, there are a fair number of Israel GPS software sets available, but many of them are unreleliable. the best IMHO is the Garmin maps:
    http://gpstracklog.com/2010/04/finally-garmin-city-navigator-israel-nt.html
    Third, There are several Garmin models that have preinstalled maps for NA and Europe. I use one of those. They also allow lifetime updates at a modest price so you can always be current.