What do I do with 40,000 US points?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by tarajane82, Dec 22, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. I'm new to this site and to having points. Over a year I collected 40,000 points on USAir and have to come to learn that will barely get me anything. If I want an overseas upgrade to buisness class it will eat up all my points AND will cost me $300. What do I do? This stinks!

JohnDeere19 likes this.
  2. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MIlePoint!

I am not an expert in US' program. But in general terms, look at the cost differential between a business class seat and the coach seat you are required to buy and see what value that assigns to your miles (including the copayment of $300 in the calculation). Then look at alternative uses for the miles (eg a domestic round trip) and what you'd get for your miles in that case. Be sure to consider that an outright award earns no new miles while an upgrade award earns you coach miles.

JohnDeere19 likes this.
  3. JohnDeere19
    Original Member

JohnDeere19 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to Milepoint tarajane82!

40,000 points doesn't get you much, but with the US Airways 100% buy miles promotion right now you could buy 40k miles and get 40k bonus (total of 120k) and fly US-North Asia in First Class on star alliance partners and just pay the taxes and fees (in addition to the miles you purchase)! If you're looking to be more conservative, you could book US-EU in business class by buying 30k + 30k bonus which would give you the 100k miles necessary to make that trip happen. Check http://www.usairways.com/en-US/dividendmiles/programdetails/purchasemiles/default.html to see how much that would cost you. Check http://www.usairways.com/pv_obj_cac...5D918078C0000/filename/partnerawardtravel.pdf for the full star alliance award travel chart.