What an eventful week!

Discussion in 'Community Center' started by wijomas, Jun 8, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. wijomas
    Original Member

wijomas Gold Member

Status Points:
    So, a couple of very unexpected but extremely welcome things happened in the past 10 days or so.

As most of you are well aware, I flew from my native New Zealand (aka Kiwiland) to Washington, DC last week, for the Star Alliance Mega DO 4 launch party. It was a fantastic event, where I got to meet many friends - old and new. I'm no newbie to these things, I've been to every Mega DO and every launch party - but this one had some very special surprises in store.

The first one is that I was invited to become a co-captain of the Milepoint Kiva Team. I'm a strong supporter of this team, although far from being one if its biggest in terms of dollar value. But that's the great thing about Kiva - it's not about how much you lend. Every single loan has helped someone in so many ways, and every $25 is as good as every other $25. One single loan can literally change lives. I was so honored to be asked to help lead this team.

A few Milepointers were going to be in NYC almost straight after the launch party events, mostly attending BlogWorld. As some of us had previously been to Steak Frites in NYC, I had suggested that we all meet up there again for dinner the Tuesday after the launch party. I had somewhat of an ulterior motive for this - I had vivid recollections of a very attractive and friendly bar girl from Texas who worked there and served us last time. I was hoping to see her again, though had no idea what her name was nor did she know mine :p