Want to go to Hawaii in Summer of 2012. What points should I collect?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by peteyboy100, Nov 3, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. peteyboy100
    Original Member

peteyboy100 Silver Member

Status Points:
    My wife and I would like to travel to Hawaii this summer for our anniversary. My question is this, what points should I collect over the next 10ish months so that we can fly and sleep in style (or at least cheap and fun) for Hawaii?

Details:
    I've been collecting and using points since 2010. Between the two of us we have about 260,000 airline points in various programs (mainly AA and Continental). We don't really travel enough (2 trips this year) to do crazy things like mileage runs or gain any sort of status. We simply churn credit cards.

Our main airport is MKE,

2. JohnDeere19
    Original Member

JohnDeere19 Gold Member

Status Points:
    I'd look now for flights on AA that go through DFW in First Class to get to HNL or OGG. ORD-HNL is apparently seasonal now so you'd have to see if those dates work for you (stopping Jan 9, starting back up June 14). AA's first class on this route is similar to their international business class (missing IFE though) and I loved it when I flew it. These are popular routes so starting earlier is the best bet.

misman and Jimgotkp like this.
  3. Jimgotkp
    Original Member

Jimgotkp Gold Member

Status Points:
    I would personally go after SPG and Hyatt points... Which means I would consider the AMEX SPG, Chase Sapphire Preferred, Chase Hyatt..

If you do go after the Chase Hyatt card, consider going after Platinum status beforehand so you can get two suite upgrade certs..

4. HiIslands
    Original Member

HiIslands Silver Member

Status Points: