Vietnam Airways question

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by PAinNY, Jan 4, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. PAinNY
    Original Member

PAinNY Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi
    I know this is a newbie forum but I have a question since I am a newbie to Vietnam Air. I was afraid to post in the Other Airlines/Asia thread as it looks as it would get lost.

Here's my question: On 9/16 I need to get from Shanghai to Hanoi - the only direct flight I can find is with Vietnam Airlines. I am wondering if it is too early to book or even if I can book on Vietnam Airlines with a US credit card. My other concern is that since there is only one flight a day - well - how reliable is Vietnam Airlines? I went to their official site which I believe is http://www.vietnamairlines.com/wps/portal/en/site/home and they have a super saver fare available....but still wondering. There is so little info online regarding purchasing tickets with Vietnam Airlines. I would be happy to go through an agent if that's what you feel I should do..any advise appreciated.. A happy and healthly New Year to everyone

Thank you
    Pat

2. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    We flew them 7 years ago and they were fine. We bought in-country rather than online but I'd have no concern in that regard other than that you might be over-paying. Look at Ctrip.com or other China-specific OTAs before committing to a purchase.

PAinNY likes this.
  3. PAinNY
    Original Member

PAinNY Silver Member

Status Points:
    Thanks so much for a little reassurance. I've been checking Ctrip and they are not cheaper which is surprising. I am checking for the next couple of months not Sept just to get an idea of the prices. The Vietnam Airways webiste super saver fare is actually cheaper than Ctrip.

4. PAinNY
    Original Member

PAinNY Silver Member

Status Points: