Using Marriott Points During Peak Season? Tips and Tricks?

Discussion in 'Marriott | Rewards' started by jpripcord, Jun 3, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. jpripcord

jpripcord Silver Member

Status Points:
    So I'm planning a trip with the girlfriend to southeast asia over Christmas/New Years time.

I figured it would be good to start making my preparations now, because we are hoping to book most of the trip (airfare and hotels) using reward points and i've never done so before (I tend to hoard points, and never use them).

So I'm looking for a nice beach property to stay for 5 days (figuring I would get the 4 + 1 free) towards the end of our trip. I was thinking Ko Samui or Phuket, but when I do a search on Marriott's website, the "good hotels" are nowhere to be found.

Is this typical (rewards are very hard to get during peak season) and I am being naive thinking I could book a prime property. Am I better off buying the $1000 gift card(s) and using those if there is regular availability, but no reward rooms?

It is more than 6 months before our trip. Does inventory open up as we get closer if rooms are not fully booked, or does supply only shrink?

Am I better off just making a few reservations using points now, and then canceling the reservations if I find a better property?

Any other tips or tricks would be very much appreciated. (As well as any feedback on the Ko Samui or Phuket properties)

Thanks guys.

- JP

2. Counsellor
    Original Member

Counsellor Gold Member

Status Points:
    Hi jpripcord, and welcome to MilePoint.

Quick question: Do you have elite status with Marriott?

By the way, Ko Samui is currently showing award availability in late December and early Jan (I tried 28 Dec - 3 Jan as a test). Check here.

3. jpripcord

jpripcord Silver Member

Status Points:
    Yes, currently I'm gold with 74 nights stayed, so I'll be plat by the end of June. Does that help in any way?

4. sophiegirl
    Original Member

sophiegirl Silver Member

Status Points: