Using Aeroplan points for Star Alliance / United flights?

Discussion in 'Star Alliance' started by boxergal, Jul 16, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. boxergal

boxergal Silver Member

Status Points:
    My daughter is trying to book two flights using her 200K+ Aeroplan points and was told by the Aeroplan representative that she can only book flights that come up in the Aeroplan flight search. I can find award flights on United for the date she needs. Why wouldn't it be possible for her to book those?

She's trying to get 2 tickets to take her daughter to Denver to swim for a week at the Olympic Training Center in Denver CO. They are departing Winnipeg YWG and can fly to Denver or Colorado Springs. Departure date is July 20th (which she can get via Aeroplan) but the return on July 26, 27 or 28 is the problem.

I have no experience with Aeroplan or booking Star Alliance flights. Anyone here have any booking insight to share?

2. pointshogger

pointshogger Silver Member

Status Points:
    I just did a quick search on the Aeroplan website. It seems like you have no problem with going to Denver, but the issue is coming back. Those dates are unavailable. You are a little late in the game for booking a reward flight for these dates. Every flight on has so many reward tickets available. So once they are sold out, you are out of luck unfortunately. You may have to pay for the return flight, but you can book a one-way reward flight going there.

3. boxergal

boxergal Silver Member

Status Points: