Upgrading Flagship transcons

Discussion in 'American Airlines | AAdvantage' started by Canadi>n, Sep 24, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Canadi>n
    Original Member

Canadi>n Gold Member

Status Points:
    As a newbie I have just used one of my eVIPs to upgrade a JFK-LAX Flagship transcon from coach to business. In checking my reservation, I see the fare code now reads C instead of my original coach booking code. I thought an upgraded fare code would be R, or is this just the case for two-cabin planes? Is this correct, or did the agent by mistake put me into a full revenue C class? Also, noted that my fare went from $400 to $0 on the updated res. Is this normal too?

2. TheBOSman

TheBOSman Silver Member

Status Points:
    All normal. C is the business upgrade code for a three class plane. This is exactly as my eVIPs for three-class DFW-NRT went, so no need to be concerned! Enjoy the ride!

3. DestinationDavid
    Original Member

DestinationDavid Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Were the upgrade prospects that grim that you burned a SWU on this? Not a horrible use of a SWU but most people try to get these as freebies.

4. Canadi>n
    Original Member

Canadi>n Gold Member

Status Points:
    Thanks. Thought AA might use some other code for upgraded business.

5. Canadi>n
    Original Member

Canadi>n Gold Member

Status Points:
    Didn't want to take any chances. And since I'll have 15 more eVIPs to play with next year I don't consider it a waste of a credit.

zphelj likes this.
  6. HNL
    Original Member

HNL Gold Member

Status Points:
    The business class revenue fare buckets on AA are J, D, I. C is the Miles/SWU Upgrade bucket. Domestically R is the sticker upgrade bucket. Internationally R is a revenue bucket.

7. NYBanker
    Original Member

NYBanker Gold Member

Status Points:
    Nice!

8. Mike Reed

Mike Reed Gold Member

Status Points:
    15 more?

Sent from my iPhone using milepoint

9. jetsetr
    Original Member

jetsetr Gold Member