Upgrade or Wait for EUA?

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by BurBunny, Jun 13, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. BurBunny
    Original Member

BurBunny Silver Member

Status Points:
    Have a MR coming on July 4 on CO. Some of the flights, such as the red-eye from LAS-IAH, I have pretty good hopes of clearing on EUA as a matched Gold (1P). Others, such as the afternoon/evening EWR-IAH-SFO "leg" less so, and finally legs where it won't kill me if it doesn't (IAH-EWR morning flight).

Since the EWR-IAH-SFO segments are booked in G, I'm debating whether I should pull the upgrade trigger and pay 15K miles today or tomorrow rather than risk it (and potentially have to pay 20K with the new points system after the 15th if F looks to be filling up).

I understand that the EWR-IAH and IAH segments are often tough upgrades on weekdays, and I fear they may be lateish in the day on a Monday holiday as well. However, I have no experience with EUA on Continental, and no comparable chart to the UDU success/failure database which has been maintained over the past year that I can find.

I would appreciate any insight and input.

2. mht_flyer
    Original Member

mht_flyer Gold Member

Status Points:
    I'd go with the mileage upgrade today on those EWR-IAH-SFO especially on a "G".

3. gleff
    Original Member

gleff Co-founder

Status Points:
    Is there confirmed upgrade space available now?

While EWR-IAH-SFO isn't going to be an easy upgrade, it's easier than EWR-SFO, and I would certainly expect July 4 to clear more often than not -- at least for a Platinum. As a Gold I'd never count on it and it I felt the upgrade was important I would confirm it, except maybe Saturday afternoons, Wednesday midday, and over Thanksgiving and Christmas.

4. mht_flyer
    Original Member

mht_flyer Gold Member

Status Points: