University Thesis Survey

Discussion in 'Travel Security' started by Student, May 21, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Student

Student New Member

Status Points:
    Dear Forum-members,

I am a final year student at the University of Glasgow in Scotland, currently working on my dissertation (the final year thesis).

My thesis is based around the effects of introducing self-select-airport security screening lanes on passenger satisfaction and airport operations. The idea stems back from reading about trials at Phoenix in the mid-2000s. Self-select, basically means that Frequent Fliers, Casual Fliers and Families or people with special needs pass through separate security lanes. The security check is identical at all checkpoints, the difference is that personnel is trained for the particular lanes and that less experienced fliers have more time, while experienced fliers can pass through faster.

As part of my research I have created a survey for primary data collection from passengers to essentially establish what passengers think of self-select security screening lanes. The survey will take around five minutes and is available in English only.

I would be very thankful if you could spare five minutes and complete the survey, as a large proportion of frequent fliers is necessary for the results to be statistically significant. Depending on the outcomes of the research, this work could provide an academic basis and justification for the introduction of alternative processes at airports outside of the US.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/Self-Select-Security-Screening

Thank you very much and best regards from Scotland

Chris

2. NYBanker
    Original Member

NYBanker Gold Member

Status Points:
    Good luck!

3. Jimgotkp
    Original Member

Jimgotkp Gold Member

Status Points:
    There are airports in the US that do something like this such as PHL. You will always have those people who shouldn't belong in the frequent flier line because they take forever...