United, Continental begin latest round of fare hikes

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by AmericanGirl, Mar 22, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. AmericanGirl
    Original Member

AmericanGirl Silver Member

Status Points:
    jbcarioca likes this.
  2. Renard
    Original Member

Renard Silver Member

Status Points:
    I would say that they are doing a pretty good job so far in offsetting these costs. I'm seeing some fares out of IAH double what they were a year ago. :eek: (It's very unclear what part the merger has played in that. However, it does seem that the merger is having a big effect on fares. But I'm no expert)

PAinNY and jbcarioca like this.
  3. Mackieman
    Original Member

Mackieman Gold Member

Status Points:
    Based on the presentation from Jeff Smisek yesterday, this would be fare increase attempt number 15, of which 8 have worked so far.

[​IMG]

PAinNY and jbcarioca like this.
  4. tommy777
    Original Member

tommy777 Co-founder

Status Points:
    We are looking at 440USD round trip prices any time ORD/SAN these days (21 days advance purchase required), so a 50%+ increase from last year.

AA is usually at least 100+ USD cheaper

jbcarioca likes this.
  5. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    So that EXP match will work out well for you?? ;)

jbcarioca likes this.
  6. tommy777
    Original Member

tommy777 Co-founder

Status Points:
    Nah, not doing it. But looking sharp for Platinum this year.

jbcarioca likes this.
  7. jbcarioca
    Original Member

jbcarioca Gold Member

Status Points:
    International routes seem to be rising more than domestic, is that correct?

8. craz
    Original Member

craz Silver Member

Status Points:
    JFK-Cali is no different $428+ if it can be found.