United Airlines Credit Card or another for flying on United

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by francofm, Mar 7, 2016.  |  Print Topic

1. francofm

francofm New Member

Status Points:
    I am completely new to the "miles" thing. I will be flying United a lot in the next couple of years and hope to earn enough miles through a credit card for upgrades or free trips. I've been told I can transfer miles from other cards to United but I'm wondering if they are worth the same amount of benefits as getting a United Mileage Plus Visa card. If I transfer from another card will I need more miles for free trips or upgrades? Thanks to anyone who can help me decide. I know in this day and age it must seem ridiculous that someone is so new to the idea of using miles but we do still exist....and I hope to change that!! Again, thanks.

8MiHi likes this.
  2. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome!

How much is "a lot" -- i.e., how many miles and how many trips per year are you expecting to take? Domestic or international?

Chase has the United Explorer and the United Club cards. Those earn United miles directly and also give you some travel benefits (free bag, ... ) which may be worthwhile having if you travel a lot but not enough to earn status.

Chase also has the Sapphire Preferred card, which earns "Ultimate Rewards" points that can be transferred into your United account, but have flexibility (i.e., you can also transfer them into some other hotel and airline programs). But the card doesn't give you a free bag if that is something that matters to you.

8MiHi likes this.
  3. satman40

satman40 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Chase has several United Cards, and they offer many perks depending on the fee for the Card.

Do a Google Search,

The great thing is often the first year they are without fees,

You may also move points to United from some other Chase cards, like HVM said,