UAL. Change fee for same reservation?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by tkuebler1, May 28, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. tkuebler1

tkuebler1 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I purchased a flight (SFO-BER) and have a W class ticket. If I want to increase my chances for a Global Upgrade can I change the class of ticket without paying the $250 change fee? Is this a good idea? It's the same schedule just a different class.

2. jetsetboy

jetsetboy Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm not an expert on United, but I seem to remember folks saying that the top elites can make changes without fees. Do you have any status on United?

LIH Prem and perryplatypus like this.
  3. LIH Prem
    Original Member

LIH Prem Gold Member

Status Points:
    Certain changes are fee-free depending on your elite level, but not changes to non-refundable tickets. (with some exceptions, like Same Day Changes, etc.)

-David

jetsetboy likes this.
  4. chrislacey
    Original Member

chrislacey Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Welcome to MilePoint, tkuebler1! One other thought...if you just purchased the ticket yesterday, then you should be able to call in and change the ticket for no fee. You can cancel tickets within 24 hours with no penalty, so your current W fare ticket would be cancelled, and you could then book the fare class you want.

LIH Prem, misman and jetsetboy like this.
  5. Scottrick
    Original Member

Scottrick Gold Member

Status Points:
    Changing the fare class is still a ticketing change, even though everything else is the same. Now, if you wanted to change a refundable fare like Y to W, that would be different...

6. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    Some airlines don't charge if you're changing to a higher cabin class, but not just a higher fare class. So switching from coach to business or FC can be fee-free, for example on DL. Of course, you pay the fare difference, which can be huge.

7. Wandering Aramean