UA Silver v. E+ Annual & Explorer Card

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by Sunshine7, Aug 15, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Sunshine7

Sunshine7 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Newbie here with a question for UA premiers.

I travel several times per year for pleasure and to see family. I generally stick with UA so that all my miles are in one bucket, which makes award travel more within reach. Surprisingly, I have traveled enough in 2012 that I will likely make it to Silver, which I understand has been greatly devalued after the merger.

Here's my question: before the merger, I purchased an Economy Plus Annual Option (no longer available), which allows me to choose E+ seats at ticket purchase. (It's like being GOLD!) I also have a MileagePlus Explorer credit card which gives me priority boarding and a free checked bag.

My question is this: once I hit Silver, will my flying experience on UA change at all? My E+ option expires in a few months, so when that happens I guess I'll have to wait until 24-hours before takeoff to see if there is E+ availability. And I think Silvers board in Group 3 versus 4 for credit card holders.

Am I missing anything? Seems like a lot of work to get arguably lesser benefits than those I've already been enjoying as a non-premier member. But maybe my Silver benefits transfer to*Alliance partners in some meaningful way?

In case this info is useful: I fly to Europe from the West Coast about two to three times a year (generally United on the domestic end and SAS or Lufthansa on the European end). I also have one or two trips to the southern states and Latin America. I would've been Silver after my flights last month, but my trip to Europe in April was on award miles. I just never thought I could hit the 25k mile mark as a leisure traveler.

Oh, is there a *Alliance program that would better fit my needs / make it easier to reach Silver with my flight patterns?

Thanks for the enlightenment. :)