UA SFO to FRA/LHR...best reasonable routing for maximum miles?

Discussion in 'Mileage Runs/Travel Hacking' started by chontzy, May 9, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. chontzy

chontzy Silver Member

Status Points:
    Last year I was a corporate cog although with the perk of flying international business every month. This year I'm a boostrapping freelancer that hasn't flown in the first third of the year. Man I miss flying!

I have a meeting in the Middle East (JED) and I can make my own reservations. Since my travel so greatly reduced, I want to maximize my upcoming trip by getting as many miles as possible within reason (max. 3 segments) to either FRA or LHR. Possibly SFO-LAX-IAD-FRA? A quick comparison of miles yields an extra 1k for adding LAX and IAD (6,600 miles with additional segments v. 5,600 for non-stop).

Any recommendations by fellow MP'ers? Go west through Asia? Thanks!

2. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    If Asia isn't more expensive for your client, why not check the mileages, although you might not want to submit something for reimbursement that looks too crazy and/or cannot be explained easily such as having a convenient schedule or good connections? Can you use LH or other *A instead of UA? (However, if you do this, check fare classes and mileage earnings very carefully.) LAX-NRT-SIN-(DXB?)-JED could be interesting. If your client is paying for business class, note that some *A deep discount business class fares earn zero in some FF programs.

chontzy likes this.
  3. chontzy

chontzy Silver Member

Status Points:
    Thanks MSPe, I quoted an estimate based on coach, basically I don't want to exceed $2k. I would prefer UA or LH and hope for upgrades with SWU/certificate.

4. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points: