UA pilot dies of heart attack, flight diverted to Boise

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by HaveMilesWillTravel, Sep 27, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

Status Points:
  2. Mike Reed

Mike Reed Gold Member

Status Points:
    Just blogged about this since I didn't see much on it. Condolences to his family and kudos to the copilot who not only diverted and safely landed the aircraft, but coordinated to ensure EMS and assistance were available ASAP when the plane touched down.

Sounds like an off-duty pilot assisted, but it's not clear from reports if that was just in the medical emergency or on the flight deck (would be quite the coincidence to have them qualified to operate a 737, but I'm sure there could be checklist assistance, etc. - not being a pilot I don't know how that works, regulation-wise.

IDGflygirl and LETTERBOY like this.
  3. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

Status Points:
  4. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

Status Points:
    Didn't see much about anything here: two (2!) threads plus the penalty thing have been touched in the United forum since midnight (8+ hrs). And this is one of the two threads. So not much of a surprise that there was no thread on this. Is everyone now just running their own BA blog and MilePoint is turning into a ghost town?

hulagrrl210, estnet and viguera like this.
  5. Mike Reed

Mike Reed Gold Member

Status Points:
    IDGflygirl and LETTERBOY like this.
  6. milchap
    Original Member

milchap Gold Member

Status Points:
    SuperKirby likes this.
  7. gregm

gregm Gold Member

Status Points: