Tweezers a "New" Threat?!

Discussion in 'Travel Security' started by Concerto, Mar 30, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Concerto
    Original Member

Concerto Gold Member

Status Points:
    Well, this is a new one for me. I was in the Nexus line at YEG the other day and my computer bag was torn apart by the screener because, heaven forbid, I had two pairs of tweezers in my make-up kit. Yes, even though I have been carrying them around through airports for about the last eight years and never been stopped, this is apparently a problem now (maybe they thought I was going to pluck the pilot's eyebrows?! :rolleyes:).

This whole ridiculous scenario took ten minutes to resolve and it held up the line of people behind me who, I might add, were glaring daggers at me the entire time. Everything had to go through the scanner twice just to make sure that those tweezers were what they actually were... . I simply cannot believe what a colossal waste of time this exercise turned out to be.

Anyone else ever had a problem with tweezers?!

Chimpy and AmericanGirl like this.
  2. gobluetwo
    Original Member

gobluetwo Silver Member

Status Points:
    Not tweezers, but a pair of wooden chopsticks I received as part of a gift for being a camp counselor to Korean adoptees was almost taken away from me in CLE years ago, not long after 9/11.

3. Travel2Food
    Original Member

Travel2Food Silver Member

Status Points:
    We had nail clippers confiscated at Santorini (Greece). The screener noted that "we could thank the US government for that". That happened in 2008.

4. Concerto
    Original Member

Concerto Gold Member

Status Points:
    Yes, I remember when nail clippers were not allowed but that changed awhile ago now. Until now, though, I have never had any issues with tweezers. Sheesh! Guess I should clarify that they did not take them away from me. They just had to "find and inspect" them... :confused:

Chimpy likes this.
  5. MSPeconomist
    Original Member