Trying to plan a long term strategy, please help!

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Mingo, Jun 25, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. Mingo

Mingo New Member

Status Points:
    I'm new to the airline miles game and I'm trying to develop a solid plan for the future. I'm an incoming college freshman and don't plan on doing heavy travel until I graduate, so I have plenty of time!

As I'm still young, I'm trying to avoid working with a ton of credit cards as I want to keep my credit steady. As the years progress I can get more, but I think I just want to get one for now, so you're suggestions would be great!

I'm between AA and United right now. I live in Atlanta and the miles will most likely be used for international travel only - I'll just pay for any domestic flights I have to take so I can save up.

Being in college, I wont be a heavy spender but when I do buy things I will try to use my card and shopping portals whenever necessary. However, I'm worried that miles will only trickle in, so I would love any advice you guys can give to help me to develop a plan of attack.

Thanks in advance for your help. I really do appreciate it!

2. MX

MX Gold Member

Status Points:
    I don't make even tentative travel plans more than 2 year in advance. Miles don't have a secure shelf life, and too many other things can and will change in the meantime.

edekba likes this.
  3. MSYgirl

MSYgirl Gold Member

Status Points: