Trying to get million miles

Discussion in 'American Airlines | AAdvantage' started by jpeace, Jan 12, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. jpeace

jpeace Active Member

Status Points:
    Hi all,
    I am 50K away from 1 million miles on AA. How can I get there without flying all those miles? I am new to the points game and just started this summer to try to earn points. Opened a couple of credit cards to get the points while they still counted. Use the shoping portal to earn miles. Use the new executive card for purchases. I'm not any elite status, so earning points is a slow go. What should my strategy be at this point? :)

2. DestinationDavid
    Original Member

DestinationDavid Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Sorry to say but it sounds like you're pretty much doing all that you can be doing at this point. Keep flying, and keep using the new AA World Elite credit card. The other avenues are now closed.

Based on your comment about not having elite status and not getting points, I'm willing to bet you don't fully understand the new million miler program, since status doesn't accelerate your accumulation of MMer miles. Have you read through these yet? Lots of good info in these! :)

AA.com page on MM: LINK.
    MP page on MM: LINK.

sobore and tondoleo like this.
  3. jpeace

jpeace Active Member

Status Points:
    :) I've read it, but you are probably correct, in that I don't fully understand it.

4. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    If you do not fly very much, why does it matter when you reach MM status?

AnthonyB1609 likes this.
  5. jpeace

jpeace Active Member

Status Points: