Traveling from NYC to Rome w entourage... newbie questions

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by gder27, Feb 23, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. gder27

gder27 New Member

Status Points:
    Newbie here, came across MP searching airline loyalty programs & credit card rewards... been wading through great info would love to possibly get some tips... we with my 4 grown kids, w/ assorted boyfriend, spouse planning a 2 wk trip to Italy this summer, late July into Aug first time to Europe for 'rents. How many points do we need for Europe? Do we apply for a few cards at 1 time to maximize points? & If we get the card can we use the points in July? Any other suggestions would be great thanks!

Ciao Everyone,
    Cannot thank you all enough for the great info (is there a way to reply to the whole thread?)
    My kids booked the trip to Rome around a surprise my sister threw in, a Villa in Ischia from 8/3-8/10!! The boyfriends et al will be coming for that week only. We plannd on sightseeing around the Villa, a few days in Rome, Florence, Naples. That's why we are locked into high season.
    Hard number is 6. Each kid is paying for there own ticket but we were trying to wrangle getting them all together. Logistically, that may not work 1 daughter in LA, she has fly cross country, where we will be flying to Rome from NYC.
    Good news is we just got an American Advantage Platimun card 30k bonus miles, & my son just got a Chase Sapphire 50k bonus miles (I agree it is a learning curve with the rewards & this is something we have been planning on doing the trip pushed us into cyberspeed : ) Both daughters have miles accumulated can't we use those to offset the ticket prices?

American has a special out of NYC to Dublin, my sister (a seasoned traveler) said to take Easy Jet or Ryanair into Rome it's cheaper (?)

tommy777 likes this.
  2. TravelBear

TravelBear Gold Member

Status Points: