Transfer Amex MR points to Hilton honors at 1:2; good deal?

Discussion in 'Hilton | HHonors' started by lycidas1, Nov 28, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. lycidas1

lycidas1 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Sorry if there's already a thread on transfers; I searched and could not find anything.

Amex Membership Rewards is currently running an offer where I could transfer MR points to HHonors at a 1:2 ratio (e.g. get 50000 HHonors points for 25000 MR points). I'm new to the HHonors thing, so I'm not sure if this is a good deal or if better promotions come along. Any thoughts/insight?

2. 2wheels

2wheels Silver Member

Status Points:
    No, not a good deal, IMHO. Hilton points are worth far less than MR points (even with a 2:1 exchange rate). 50,000 HH Points is the standard reward level for many hotels for a night.

3. LETTERBOY
    Original Member

LETTERBOY Gold Member

Status Points:
    The HHonors AmEx card gives you 3 points per $, which is still more than this. MR transfers into hotel programs are generally not advisable because of poor transfer ratios.

4. NYBanker
    Original Member

NYBanker Gold Member

Status Points:
    Depends what you value. If you value long haul premium cabin international travel, then definitely a bad trade. If you move 80k mr points to ba, you could get a business class ticket to London from ny. The price on such a ticket would be $5,000 to $8,000, depending on the market at the time.

Those same points (say 75k) would transfer to 150k Hilton points...enough for 3 nights at a hotel at 50k a night. Assuming $500 a night rack rate (probably high for a Hilton), that would be $1,500 of value.

But...if you have no desire to go to London in business class...then perhaps the hotel redemption is the way to go for you. It really depends on what you value. The biggest bang for the MR point is long haul business and first class travel.

HaveMilesWillTravel likes this.
  5. newbluesea
    Original Member

newbluesea Gold Member

Status Points: