Total Novice at frequent flyer miles. Getting started?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by Wayneferguson, Mar 23, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Hi all, very new to this - would like to know how to max my travel points and benefitsa sap. Been hanging around silver status for a while now and want to reach gold soon any help appreciated.

misman, Cholula, AmericanGirl and 5 others like this.
  2. Gargoyle
    Original Member

Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Which airline do you usually fly? What is your typical type of trip- short haul or long haul? Are you a hub flier (live near a major hub) or based at an outstation? That sort of information will help people to give you some good suggestions.

Chimpy and Mikel like this.
  3. deant
    Original Member

deant Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    As Gargoyle said, we need some additional information before we can be of too much help. However, there are a couple of very good web sites that provide some links and information to get additional miles / points. One of the best I have found is the Frugal Travel Guy. His web site is: www.frugaltravelguy.com . He has a noob daughter who posts every week on what she has done to accumulate miles and points. Another good site is www.freefrequentflyermiles.com . Both sites will give you lots of data on accumulating miles.

Also, just look around the MP and see what suggestions are there. If you concentrate on a couple of programs it will help you in the long run.

Hope this helps and welcome to MP.

Chimpy, AmericanGirl and Gargoyle like this.
  4. FlyMeToTheLooneyBin
    Original Member

FlyMeToTheLooneyBin Silver Member

Status Points:
    Could the OP be on Delta Skymiles program? What other frequent flyer programs use Silver status?

5. Tenmoc
    Original Member

Tenmoc Gold Member

Status Points: