Total Newbie to this forum & Frequent Flyer Miles; HELP?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by stacyis, Jul 5, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. stacyis

stacyis Member

Status Points:
    Here's the shortened version of my story: I went looking for ways to buy a ticket for my husband, who is from England, home to see his family this fall and give it to him as a birthday present this month. We are strapped for cash, so I started wondering about frequent flyer miles.

We do not do a lot of credit card purchasing, so have never really racked these up. I have a Discover card but my rewards program I found out today does not include FF miles, although I can transfer to a Miles card which does offer these. However, my balance transfer will not be rewarded, only future purchases. :(

So, I am left wondering if there is a card out there that would offer a good reward of FF miles for a balance transfer of approximately $1,000?

***Hopeful***

Thanks for any help you can give!

2. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    Hmm well $1000 in BT is only going to net you like 1000 pts; then add in the 3% to 5% fee it might not be worth it.

I think your best bet would be.

1. Sign up for netflix using the United MileagePlus program (2000 Miles) link
    2. Wait for miles to post; apply for the United MileagePlus Explorer Card use it. (50k Miles) [You get it after first use] link
    3. Add your husband as an Auth User (5000 Miles)

That will net you ~57k miles which is about 3k Short of a RT from US to EU using the Saver Award. You would then have to find a way to get 3000 more miles either from spending, flying, or signing up for another card (Chase Sapphire Preferred or Ink Bold)

Unfortunately your limited window (this fall & its already July) makes it very hard I think; If it was not so rushed it would be easier.

Good Luck

harvson3 and marcwint55 like this.
  3. particlemn

particlemn Silver Member

Status Points: