The End Of The $1 Coin Hassle

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by Len Williams, Jul 7, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Len Williams
    Original Member

Len Williams Silver Member

Status Points:
  2. jmrich1432
    Original Member

jmrich1432 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Has anyone else seen the comments on this blog? I'm relatively new to the points/miles game (started about a year ago) and I'm kind of wondering why this "crosses the line," but blogs about $1 coins do not? Where is the line?

I wouldn't want to be attacked like this for sharing the wrong information so I would appreciate some guidance. I know FDing tricks and mistake fares are to be kept private until the deal is gone (right?).

Thanks, MP!

3. Lufthansa Flyer
    Original Member

Lufthansa Flyer Gold Member

Status Points:
    Anytime something that the community has figured out and then is made THAT public is never a positive. Granted we're functioning within the gray area of the intent of these kind of programs, but why call attention to ourselves? Just creates a lot of unintended consequences. I agree with you that this is as bad as screaming out loud about the coin program. Fortunately at MP we havent seen much of that cryptic crap the other site has.

4. Million Mile Secrets

Million Mile Secrets Silver Member

Status Points:
    I want to point out that my post on this was to suggest an alternative way to meet the minimum spending requirements -NOT as a way to earn easy miles or points regularly.

However, I suspect that the strong opinions voiced against sharing is because folks may have been using Amazon Payments to regularly earn miles!

I'm still struggling to understand the fuss. I'm hardly the first blog to write about this! Is it the detail that some folks don't like?

5. aitchly
    Original Member

aitchly Silver Member

Status Points:
    I imagine the fuss is because of the a-b-c structure of your post. Not only explained in detail, but with pictures!