The credit card used for this purchase must be available at check-in? Urgent!!!.

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by kayjay, Mar 13, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. kayjay
    Original Member

kayjay Silver Member

Status Points:
    I booked a flight for my cousin and he is having a family emergency. As a student, I helped him pay his flight with United and paid with my CC. After making the reservation few minutes back, I found this "The credit card used for this purchase must be available at check-in."

Is there a way arond? I am not going to travel or going to be at the airport, no way I can show my CC during his check in.
    What should I do?

jbcarioca likes this.
  2. ssullivan
    Original Member

ssullivan Gold Member

Status Points:
    As long as the ticket has been paid for and issued, there shouldn't be a problem. He should be able to check in with just his ID. I've never seen any requirement that the original form of payment be available to check in.

jbcarioca and kayjay like this.
  3. craz
    Original Member

craz Silver Member

Status Points:
    Over the yrs I ran into this with both DL & AA and either I had to go to a CTO (no longer exist for the most part) or any Airport counter where they were able to match my CC and my ID and then put a note in the Record that everything is AOK, especially when the passenger/s flying dont have the same last name as the name on the CC

Its a way for them to stop CC fraud, with DL twice I was overseas and the person over here did a conference call and the rep was willing to accept that

jbcarioca and kayjay like this.
  4. gleff
    Original Member

gleff Co-founder

Status Points: