The biggest problem with CCs...

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by jgodbey, Aug 13, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. jgodbey

jgodbey New Member

Status Points:
    Hi guys,

I'm new to Miles and points collecting and preparing for my first 3 card app o rama later this month.

My biggest question for myself and other newbies is:

What are some of the biggest problems with travel/bonus credit cards in general?

I mean problems/questions like:
    - Where to find the best deals?
    - How to stay on top of the most up to date information?
    - How to know which programs are transferrable?
    - How to know what cards are more valuable than others?
    - Where to get advice from?
    - How to plan and put together an entire trip and figure out what cards you need?

What is the hardest part about this whole game?

I'm trying to avoid any pitfalls for myself and am thinking about putting together some resources for myself and others as I learn the ropes.

I would love to get some advice from some long time flyers and recent noobies as well.

Thanks!

Jordan

tommy777 likes this.
  2. mommypoints

mommypoints Gold Member

Status Points:
    I'll take a stab:

1. No one source that is accurate 100% of the time. Most of the major blogs try to keep a list of some top offers, but do your homework from more than one source. Check around this website and the MilesBuzz section on FT. Some of the best deals are also just targeted, so check your mailbox.
    2. Same as #1.
    3. Do research, basically same as #1. The most transferable are Ultimate Rewards from Chase and Membership Rewards from American Express. However, there are some others that are valuable with transferred as well.
    4. Again, just research from many sources. Also, it depends what your travel goals area. A goal of a family trip to Disney will result in different results and a first class trip overseas.
    5. See #1.