Systemwide upgrades to/from LHR subject to "Luxury Tax" ?

Discussion in 'American Airlines | AAdvantage' started by Max M, May 13, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Max M

Max M Gold Member

Status Points:
    I have an upcoming trip to London, and am currently waitlisted for upgrades with SWU's. I've never used an SWU before, and am wondering that if upgrades clear, would I be subject to coughing up money to pay the wonderful luxury tax that is charged?

2. DestinationDavid
    Original Member

DestinationDavid Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Only on the return. You don't pay going into LHR, only if you are departing from LHR.

When you waitlisted your SWUs, the AAgent should have asked for your credit card information for when the SWU clears.

3. Max M

Max M Gold Member

Status Points:
    Thanks for the info. I'll be giving AA a call since I'm wondering whether the SWU was properly noted.

How much is the SWU luxury tax out of LHR?

4. DestinationDavid
    Original Member

Status Points:
    Depends on your flight, but info should be here: LINK.

5. aamilesslave
    Original Member

aamilesslave Silver Member

Status Points:
    Microwave likes this.
  6. NYCAdventurer

NYCAdventurer Gold Member

Status Points:
    The taxes our of LHR are ridiculous, they have to be losing a decent amount of tourism due to their greediness.

Skye1 likes this.
  7. miamigrad
    Original Member

miamigrad Silver Member

Status Points:
    A small point of clarification, in the interest of making sure everyone has correct information.

There is no "luxury tax" for premium cabins. The Air Passenger Duty (APD) is charged for all cabins. It's just that the premium cabins are charged more, hence many started calling it a "luxury tax." But, the tax is charged for all passengers that either originate their journey out of the U.K. or have a stopover in the U.K. of >24 hours before continuing on to another international destination.