Student Mileage

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by AJCU, Jul 23, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. AJCU

AJCU New Member

Status Points:
    Hello!
    I want to first say thank you for making this website. I am a student in college, and love to travel. Though I am not a person to fly for status (because I don't really have the money, student budget!), I have to say that it is awesome. I got bumped up to LH First Class on my latest trip home from Europe, and it set a trend in my mind: "I want to do this for the rest of my life." With that said, I want to learn the ways that you guys earn miles, mainly so I can fly in the pointy end of the plane more! With this said, i would like your help in finding fares. I use the ITA software, and search blogs and forums in my spare time trying to find plane tickets anywhere. The way I look at it is simple: I will go where the ticket is cheap, and eventually, I will go everywhere in the world sooner than later!

So, my point is, without CC's and such, how do I get the most miles for the dollar? I can't fly during the week except when I have time off, and can't apply for CC's that get mileage, because, I am a student (although everyone in my family has United cards). I mainly fly Star Alliance because they are the only ones that fly to a small town in Poland where most of my family lives, although I have an AA account as well.

I will qualify for silver this year for sure, which is not much, but for the future (minus the minimum money expenditures for the future), I hope to be a part of the Million Miler schenanigans and such. So basically, the point of this post is to learn the tricks, especially from a student viewpoint, and see how I can keep my mileage growing so that I can fly for cheaper or more discounted rates! Anything helps, and thanks for reading! I am based out of DEN, CO....the land of more expensive tickets so it seems.

uggboy and marcwint55 like this.
  2. MSYgirl

MSYgirl Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MP! :)