Starting From Scratch - Going to Asia in Style

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by misterbwong, Sep 13, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. misterbwong

misterbwong Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hey Everyone, long time lurker and first post. Since I'm new to this whole FF game, I wanted the opinion from the experts while I get started! Sorry for the long post!

Background: In the coming years I will be going to Asia (LAX->TPE, mostly) once or twice a year because of family. I don't have too many miles on ANY FF account to care about ditching it. I currently have some cash back CC's + an AMEX SPG but that's about it.

If you were starting from scratch, how would you maximize mileage and upgrades on this route? I'm mainly looking for the best way to get biz/first upgrades since flying, for me, is usually the worst part of the trip. I'm open to opening a couple CC's, a little extra cash, etc but nothing too crazy (e.g. mileage/mattress runs) since I'm married and the wife probably wouldn't be too happy about it.

So far from my research I'm seeing these as possible ways to maximize mileage.

1. Stick to flying with one alliance and airlines that I can book partner awards with (e.g. BA/Cathay, Delta/CI).
    • Which program I should bank miles with?
    2. Open up a mileage CC for the sign up bonus + use it as my main card. These are the ones I'm considering:
    • AMEX Plat - Sign up with the 50k bonus and use as main card. I like this one b/c of the perks but the annual fee = ouch. How are the transfers from the MR program to airlines that fly LAX->TPE/Asia?
    • AMEX Gold - Sign up with 75k bonus and use as main card.
    • BA card - Wait for a good (100k?) sign up bonus again and then sign up. Use another card (possible an AMEX MR?) as my main card. This one's iffy b/c of all the bad change rumors that have been circulating