Should I apply for the BA promo?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by sunny_sc, Apr 11, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. sunny_sc
    Original Member

sunny_sc Silver Member

Status Points:
    I've been trying to decide if I should try to apply for the British Airways promo and use the miles for a trip to Europe in September (specifically, Italy and/or Greece). However, I can't seem to find any Business class availability using the BA.com website. I'm wondering if I'm "doing it wrong" since I'm a newbie.

Should I expect that there is no business class availability in September? Or should I be able to find something? I've read on The Points Guy's website that I should try to avoid British Airways because of the high fees on award travel redemption. Does that mean I should try to book with AA?

Thanks in advance for any tips.

2. mattsteg
    Original Member

mattsteg Gold Member

Status Points:
    tzoom84 likes this.
  3. deant
    Original Member

deant Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Actually, I think there are two different issues that you are bringing up. First is should you apply for the BA card. That depends on your credit rating and history. If you have a good credit score and have not applied for more than a couple of cards in the last 6 months then you stand a very good chance of getting approved. This would give you the miles. It would be your choice as to when you should use them. Nothing wrong with saving them until later.

The second issue is the possibility getting award seats for this September. I don't have any experience with BA awards, so I am really not the one to address that. But if you start with the link mattsteg gave, it should get you pointed in the right direction. Also, JasonH has given a good write up of how to look for Delta award seats in this thread: http://milepoint.com/forums/threads/newbie-guide-award-booking-without-elite-status.4124/

Hope all of this helps.

travelinmike33 likes this.
  4. sunny_sc