Seperate PNR's: What to worry about?

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by Phorever, Sep 14, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Phorever

Phorever Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am thinking about booking a flight for the wife and I

ORD - FCO, CDG - ORD

I am thinking about booking us on seperate PNR's so that I can use mileage for her ticket and pay for mine (I want the EQMs).

I've never done this before... what can possibly go wrong? Can I just choose seats next to each other and be all good?

deant likes this.
  2. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

Status Points:
    In theory, if schedules change that involve rebooking on another flight, you could end up on separate flights. Probably unlikely given the flights you have and quite likel fixable with a call to reservations. A lot of people book separate PNRs for a variety of reasons, e.g., to increase upgrade chances or because one passenger has to fly one leg earlier or later or because one pax has to use a corporate travel agent. Or your reason.

You should be able to pick seats next to each other, even in E+ if you are both Gold. Not sure what the rules are for the various elite levels to bring non-premier members into E+ but it would involve a call to reservations and presumably ongoing monitoring to make sure the non-elite doesn't get swept out (unless they now have some sort of flag they can set to avoid sweeps?).

3. Phorever

Phorever Silver Member

Status Points:
    Thanks. I don't mind monitoring the flights... but my wife will kick me if we end up on two separate flights across an ocean.

4. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

Status Points:
    Please note the typo I just fixed in my post. It's probably unlikely that that happens.

8MiHi and Phorever like this.
  5. Phorever

Phorever Silver Member

Status Points:

Well your typo changes things :)

8MiHi and HaveMilesWillTravel like this.
  6. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member