Seeking help on Upgrade strategies for travel to Africa - StarAlliance or SkyTeam

Discussion in 'Star Alliance' started by trooper2001, Aug 22, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. trooper2001

trooper2001 Member

Status Points:
    I'm a newbie here seeking some help on upgrade strategies for flights from the States to Africa, specifically on several Star Alliance partners -- my question is how to book. I'd be flying United/Continental to Europe connecting to Brussels Airlines or Air France to Yaounde (Cameroon), then on the return using Swiss from Douala (Cameroon).

Because I'm trying to use miles to upgrade on all segments across multiple airlines, I have no idea which airline to call to do this booking. Is there a Star Alliance reservations line that can help? I'm a oneworlder but my options for using one world take me from the States to Europe then I'm forced to rely on Star Alliance or Air France.

My other option is SkyTeam but that takes me almost all the way it seems except from Europe to NSI, where I have to use Brussels Air (back to StarAlliance).

2. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MP