Seeking advice: Earning enough miles for family travel

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by heather123, Mar 6, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. heather123

heather123 Active Member

Status Points:
    I'm a newbie, with a family of four. We have excellent credit, a middle class income, and currently travel domestic once a year. We'd love to travel more, and internationally. If we start credit card churning, what's a realistic annual goal for us? Should we save all of our miles until I can get 4 award tickets, or should we set our goal on two and purchase the other two? I'm not interested in gaining elite status, since we need to sit with our young children.

2. aitchly
    Original Member

aitchly Silver Member

Status Points:
    Start collecting everywhere! You should easily be able to get 250,000 'miles' in the course of a year using both names and both of your businesses to collect credit card bonuses.

Make sure to consider hotels in your calculations of total trip costs (and get those SPG, Hilton, IHG, Marriott and Hyatt cards too).

Tim, Mikel, heather123 and 2 others like this.
  3. Kaanapali
    Original Member

Kaanapali Gold Member

Status Points:
    First thing is where are you and what airline/s service your nearest/closest airport/s?
    Second, the "where" of where you want to travel...
    Hard to give more specific advice than what aitchly gave above without more information :)
    Welcome to MP! :)

4. miles and smiles
    Original Member

miles and smiles Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome. I would say you can realistically gather close to a million miles and points in a year between the two of you, if you are patient and persistent. If you want them all in one program, definitely much less. As Kaanapali said, share where you fly from, where you want to go and whether or not you want/need first or business class as a goal.

heather123 and Gargoyle like this.
  5. heather123

heather123 Active Member

Status Points: