Schengen/Customs

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by guberif, Mar 9, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. guberif

guberif Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm not a newbie, but I have a newb question :D I am flying LH J on DEN-FRA-WAW in a few weeks. When I arrive in FRA, will I have to clear customs, or will that wait until WAW? My guess is FRA, but I'm not sure about my luggage.

I have about a 6 hour layover, so assuming I'm unable to upgrade to LH F at T-2 weeks, we might go in to Frankfurt for a few hours.

Thanks!

jbcarioca likes this.
  2. Fredrik
    Original Member

Fredrik Silver Member

Status Points:
    You clear immigration at FRA but customs at WAW.

3. guberif

guberif Silver Member

Status Points:
    So if I wanted to go to the city (or the FCT :)), I'd just have to re-clear security?

jbcarioca likes this.
  4. rwoman
    Original Member

rwoman Gold Member

Status Points:
    Correct.

jbcarioca likes this.
  5. NYCUA1K

NYCUA1K Gold Member

Status Points:
    This is strictly correct if the luggage will be checked all the way to WAW, which I am not sure will be the case, since FRA will be the OP's 'port of entry' into the Schengen Treaty area. Another possibility is that the OP will clear both immigration and customs in FRA, but will not have to either a second time in WAW...it is the whole idea behind the Schengen visa: clear once, travel freely to any country within the area.

jbcarioca likes this.
  6. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

Status Points:
    The bags will be checked to WAW (unless the OP insists on short-checking them). The customs officers in WAW will know that they originated outside the Schengen zone because the bag tags won't have the green stripes that bags from within the Schengen zone have. Even without checked bags (and thus no green stripes to look for) the customs officers might ask in WAW where the OP originated.

Immigration will be in FRA, first port of entry.